Food
Leave a Comment

Twenty Fifth Birthday Dinner

Some time in January I decided on a French themed dinner for my 25th birthday, probably because my favourite part of Paris was the food. The whole menu (aside from the store-bought dessert) came from Ina Garten’s Barefoot in Paris and Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking.

IMG_0967IMG_0972

The first meal that Julia Child had in Paris was Sole Meuniere, and the recipe itself is simple and very French: the main ingredient is a lot of butter. Sole is a bit hard to find where I live, so having it all is a bit exciting. Recipe here.

IMG_0977

My dad made garlic mashed potatoes and french spring beans from Ina Garten, and I threw together a grape fruit and avocado salad, recipe here. Everything was fairly simple. I naively thought that I could buy Macarons for dessert from Loblaws, but they ended up being 2.49 each, which is bit excessive for something so small. I bought two for my mom and I, then a lemon butter cake.

IMG_0965IMG_1727

This entry was posted in: Food
Tagged with:

by

I'm a daydreamer and a lover of fairy tales, cats, books and travel.

Leave a Reply

